Skip to content

Help us STICK IT TO CANCER!

December 29, 2011

My name is Lisa Johnson, and I was diagnosed with cancer in 2004 and had successful surgery in December of that year. In 2009, to celebrate five years of being cancer-free, I started the “Stick it to Cancer Blood Drive and Basket Raffle.” This event raises money for cancer research/treatment and the Town of Tonawanda, N.Y., Paramedics.

This year, the cancer agency that will benefit is the Roswell Park Cancer Institute through the Ride for Roswell. In 2008, I developed secondary lymphedema, a swelling of my left leg that was caused by the surgery to cure my cancer. It took three years and countless tests by countless doctors, but Roswell figured it out and treated me for the condition. While it’s a chronic condition, I am relieved to finally know what it is and to not have to hear “you’ll just have to live with it because you’re getting old” anymore.

The event also consists of an American Red Cross blood drive because donating blood is very important to me. My son, A.J., was born prematurely and required transfusions. I had given blood since I was 17 to thank those anonymous donors, but I had to stop donating while in treatment. I’m now free to give blood again, so that is why this drive is part of the Stick It event.

Our third Stick It will be held from 2-7 p.m. Saturday, April 21, 2012, at the Town of Tonawanda Boys and Girls Club, 54 Riverdale Ave. The usual blood drive, basket and other raffles, food and entertainment will be featured, but we’ll also have a special new game. Details will be released in mid-January, but here’s a hint — I’ll be wrapped in bubble wrap 🙂

Watch here for the official press release and fliers as we move forward!

Thank you to my family and friends for their past and continued support!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

