Skip to content

Shower me with hope

June 6, 2013
Photo courtesy Patrick McPartland Photography This was part of the fun during the 2012 fundraiser ... me learning how to ride a bike for Ride for Roswell!

Photo courtesy Patrick McPartland Photography
This was part of the fun during the 2012 fundraiser … me learning how to ride a bike for Ride for Roswell!

“You said yes!”

That’s becoming Patrick’s favorite phrase now when I begin to shake my head and roll my eyes at his silliness. When he tries to carry too much and drops half the load onto the ground. When he fails to empty the bag on the lawn mower as he goes and then wonders why there are clumps of cut grass all over the yard. When he’s staring right at the item he’s looking for but still asks me where it is. You know … that guy-type of silliness.

But with a smile and a mocking tone, he reminds me that I must be even wackier to want to marry into this.

Yes, on St. Patrick’s Day, I yelped in delight as he fell to one knee in the middle of Niagara Square (and the annual parade) to seek my hand in marriage, and I was overjoyed to oblige. I can’t wait to become Mrs. Silly and live with the quirks for the rest of my life.

Before the proposal in March, I had already begun to plan the fourth Stick it to Cancer Blood Drive and Basket Raffle, and the group already had set a date of June 28, 2014 (place TBD). At that point, the event already held special meaning because next year, I will be marking my 10th anniversary of being cancer-free. After setting the wedding date for Aug. 23, 2014, I realized that the timing of the wedding shower would roughly coincide with the fundraiser, so I had a brainstorm – why not make the fundraiser my wedding shower? I realized that being on my own for so long, I have acquired all the pots, dishes and silverware I will ever need. Plus I couldn’t justify asking my family and friends to attend three large events over the course of one summer, so I loved the idea of substituting a traditional wedding shower with something that would help others and raise money to fight cancer.

So, instead of a bunch of women getting together to play party games and watch me open gifts, I will welcome everyone – girls and boys, young and old, wedding guests and complete strangers – to the Stick It event, which will feature the same great raffles, music, food and blood drive as in the past. We have more than a year to decide on the benefactors, but the proceeds will be shared with a cancer-related agency as well as the Town of Tonawanda Community Emergency Response Team, of which I am communications co-chair.

Save-the-date cards will be going out in the winter for wedding guests, and around the same time, you can be sure we’ll be getting the word out through press releases, donation letters and social media postings. The planning of a benefit and a wedding simultaneously will be a challenge, but we are embracing it and enjoying every minute.

As always, thank you for your support! Together, we’ve helped raise thousands for cancer research and Town of Tonawanda public safety measures, and we hope to hold another successful event. Let the countdown begin – 387 more days until we Stick it to Cancer once again!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

