Skip to content

Still spreading the word…

February 24, 2016

It’s been a while since I last wrote about my lymphedema. I have to say it’s mostly because things have been going pretty well. While my left leg will always be plumper than its counterpart, I am happy to report that I’ve found a treatment method that is helping me maintain the size of the leg so that the disease does not horribly affect my everyday life.

Since November 2014, I’ve been using a pneumatic compression device from Bio Compression Systems that has been such a great tool in managing my lymphedema. While I still must wear a compression stocking 24/7, I do not have to wrap my leg with compression wraps anymore. I use my pneumatic pump daily for about an hour per session, and then I’m off. While the numbers fluctuate based on how active I am and even on how cold or humid it is outside, I’ve maintained a great loss of fluid over the past year-plus. I’m really happy with the results.

Here is a link to a testimonial I did for Bio Compression Systems:

http://www.lymphedemaexpo.com/durable-medical-devices/

I must note that my experiences may differ from other patients, and this testimonial is not designed as medical advice. Everyone must discuss treatment options with their own providers and be evaluated on an individual basis before starting any new treatment method.

I also am still working with the Lymphatic Education & Research Network, helping to develop the New York State Chapter as its secretary and to continue to raise awareness about lymphedema. We’ve added more states, so check it out:

http://lymphaticnetwork.org/chapters

Don’t worry if you don’t see your state yet … we are adding more until we hit all 50! In the meantime, feel free to join the conversation in a neighboring state!

Finally, there is something we all can do to bring awareness to this disease. Several groups, including LE&RN, are calling for March 6 to be declared World Lymphedema Day. Please sign the petition and support this worthy case:

https://www.change.org/p/white-house-u-s-senate-u-s-house-of-representatives-world-health-organization-united-nations-global-leaders-declare-march-6th-world-lymphedema-day

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

